Easy reading is damn hard writing.

So true, Nathaniel Hawthorne. So true. Writing is many things. It is explanatory. It is exploratory. It is fantasy and reality. The point is, writing is infinite possbility–it is anything we want it to be. I want it to be engaging. I want it to be honest. I want it to be humble. I want it to be funny. It is sometimes all of these things and sometimes it is none.

This blogging is tricky. I want to engage readers in each excerpt and yet I spend a lot of time trying to determine what a reader would want to read instead of what I care about writing. If I learned only two things from my mentor, they are this: “No one cares what you think,” (applicable when I was a budding journalist, not so much for future blog purposes) and more importantly right now, “write about something you care about because if you don’t, why would anyone else care to read it?”

So that is the plan. I vow to care. Even when I don’t want to. Sometimes it will be complaining, sometimes it will be endearing ranting, sometimes it will just be plain crap. Call it what you will, it will be writing. 🙂

P.S. I’ll leave you with another quote I like:

“And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise.  The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.”  Sylvia Plath

About megmeldrum

I love to laugh. I love to talk. I love to gossip. I am a public relations professional, a social media junkie and a writer trying to get back to the fundamentals of writing but this time on a new platform. I find blogging to be a bit overwhelming, I have performance anxiety about writing concisely about a topic that not only I care about, but that others will too. In the land of social media, there is just SO much to read by so many great bloggers. I will do my best to inform, entertain and inspire.

Leave a Reply

http://twitter.com/megmeldrum

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Blog Stats

  • 270 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

